Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd. Nomination Process and Candidate List for the Supplementary Election of Independent Director of the 8th Board of Directors

Thirteen directors (including five independent directors) were elected at the 2016 annual general meeting, among whom one independent director resigned on August 5, 2017. The 12th meeting of the 8th board of directors resolved and proposed to hold a supplementary election for independent director of 8th board of directors at the 2018 AGM in accordance with the Company Act and the Articles of Incorporation, for a term beginning on June 15, 2018 and ending on June 23, 2019.

The Company adopts the candidate nomination system in the election of directors and conducts the nomination according to Article 192-1of the Company Act. The matters regarding professional qualifications, restrictions on shareholding and on concurrent post, affirmation of independence, and other matters for compliance with respect to independent directors, the Company has executed in accordance with relevant regulations governed by the securities competent authorities.

During the Submission Period for independent director nomination, the Company' board of director submitted the nomination of one independent director candidate. The list of independent director candidate has been reviewed and approved by the 12th meeting of the 8th board of directors as follows:

Category	Name	Education	Selected Positions	Title	Shareholding (Unit: Share)
Independent	Chung-Chin Lu	PhD, Department of Electrical	Chair, Department of	Professor, Department of	0
Director		Engineering, University of	Electrical Engineering,	Electrical Engineering,	
		Southern California, USA	National Tsing Hua	National Tsing Hua University	
			University		